Peanut Butter and Honey Bars

To be truly honest, this recipe is very special to me. It may be because of it’s chewy interior or it’s magically warming effects on the body. Or maybe it’s its sweet sensation of peanut butter and honey caressing my tongue ever so gently. Who knows? All I know is that I love this peanut butter brownie sort of thing to death.

So I’ve been wanting to bake something peanut butter- related for a really long time now. But what’s been holding me back? My brother’s hatred towards peanut butter. It’s sad to watch.Even if I had stealthily smeared a dab of peanut butter into a sandwich smothered in Nutella and bananas, he’d be like, “Ew, peanut butter?” and savagely wipe it off his tongue. Still something remotely close to the appearance of peanut butter he will be careful to ask, “dat peanut butter?” in his cute little baby voice. What a smart 3-year-old. But one day, I decided to spoil myself and bake some peanut butter nevertheless. Forget everyone else’s problems! I was so excited!! Eventually, I had chosen to turn a delicious recipe I had found for honey bars into something that would satisfy my nutty craving. And out popped these little goobers.

For this recipe, any kind of creamy peanut butter will do fine. Of course, I used my favorite, Peanut Butter & Co.’s White Chocolate Wonderful. Because of this, it even has a hint of subtle chocolate! Besides that, make sure that after baking, you let the bars cool completely, otherwise they’ll be too soft to cut and they’ll start sticking to the knife and breaking apart. Once cooled though, it’s helpful to spray the knife you’ll cut the bars with with nonstick cooking spray.

Peanut Butter and Honey Bars

Serves 16

based off of a recipe from graceviolet

  • 3/4 cups oil
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup peanut butter
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.
  2. Mix the oil honey, sugar, eggs, and peanut butter together in a large bowl. Set aside.
  3. In a medium bowl, mix the rest of the ingredients. Add the dry ingredients to the first mixture. Combine well. (It’ll be thick)
  4. Spread onto a greased 8×8 inch pan and bake for 16-20 minutes.
  5. Let it cool, then cut into 16 squares.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Desserts & Sweets, Legumes

Leave a Reply

